Back Track

I feel as though I may have jumped the gun on this one. I never really actually stated the reason I put myself in such an odd situation– yay, it’s story time!

Starting back in the beginning, I have always fixated on people’s teeth. When I am talking face to face with someone, or just watching someone speak, I watch their teeth. I don’t really have a solid justification as to why I am this way, maybe it’s something about the way people’s teeth move when they talk, or how someone looks almost a gazillion times better with white, straight, healthy teeth. Whatever the reason, beware my wondering eyes when you speak to me, because they are almost certainly staring straight at your mouth.

SIDE NOTE: 

One of the most upsetting things to happen to the toddler version of myself was the crushed dream of receiving the Play Dough “Dr. Drill ‘n’ Fill” set for Chrismikkah. I was heartbroken; truly a devastating moment in the midst of my youth.

That aside, I have always known I wanted to be a dentist, and knew that the way I had to get there was through much conditioning in the area of Science. Yuck.  Not that I have anything personal against science, it is just so. much. work. But that didn’t really stop me, it’s sort of a mind over matter thing.

I did many things after that with science: I was at a science based camp every summer for 3 or 4 years, I’ve done internships and I took two lab sciences a year for three years in high school. Oh yeah, I worked my butt off. But then senior year came around and a little beauty called Psychology reared it’s head toward me. It was so simple, so fun, and I just happened to be awesome at it (awesome in my opinion, that is). When it came time to pick a major, I looked into it and realized that I did not have to major in a science to get into dental school. Oh what a glorious day that was. I could major in something that I enjoyed and make it easy on myself, while taking the tough classes on the side; my mind was set and my foot was already halfway out the door on that one.

And THAT my friends, is why I am a pre-dental psych major. you’re welcome 😉

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Morgan Read-Davidson

     /  October 5, 2011

    I can’t believe that was an actual Play-do toy. Blows my mind. “Open wide!” Hilarious.

    Reply
  1. Psychology of Cosmetic Dentistry « The Psychology of Your Teeth

Leave a Reply

  • September 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
