Stroke of Brilliance

ingenious.

An idea that was just sheer brilliance:

combining my two discourse communities and creating one idea.

I really do wish that I could take credit for it. Such a wonderful idea that is so simple, so easy; my complex little mind just couldn’t fathom something of that caliber. My english professor, and the one responsible for the creation of this blog came up with this idea, though it wasn’t stated in a one-on-one conversation but rather in the grading footnotes of one of my essays.

I don’t know if I have stated it yet, in fact, I know that I haven’t. I would like to focus in cosmetic dentistry. But this idea that my professor came up with was questioning just what do cosmetic dentistry and psychology have in common?

It hit my like a ton of bricks. I thought about it for a good 24 hours or so. WHY am I so attracted to the idea of cosmetic dentistry? Well, well, well Mr.Professor, way to challenge my ideas and force me to think critically– well played, sir. 

What I believe it comes down to, for me anyway, is making others feel beautiful. People have so many insecurities in their life, and good teeth can be one of the very biggest. When talking to someone, most people see others’ teeth first. It’s only natural, when the mouth opens to speak, the teeth just appear, whether they want to or not. It is more than just a good salary, it is knowing that I helped to rid others of their insecurity, which is a much greater reward than just being able to support my (future, hypothetical) family.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
